So much financial advice is bullshit. I'm glad to see this point come around more and more often. So many money writers in the mainstream write for a young, middle-class, white-collar, demographic that just doesn't exist anymore. We are being bombarded with advice like "Here's the best way to invest that extra $10k you have laying around" and not enough "Here's how to tell that debt collector to shove it in a way that will make them dread the idea of calling you back".
That's the joke behind Financial Pro-Tip, rephrased and rewritten every day, I wrack my brain for hours to come up with another way to say the same thing again, and then, like Sisyphus being run over by his boulder, I do the same thing again tomorrow. I fucking love it.
Thursday, December 10, 2020
Saturday, December 5, 2020
Financial Pro-Tip Q&A 1
Well, a threat is only as good as its followthrough, and I am nothing if not a credible threat. So you asked, and so long as the gag order is still in litigation, I am free to answer your questions.
Q. Any advice on retirement planning?
Yeah, if you were born after 1972, don't.
I'm not kidding.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
What's with all the GameStop Store Front Photos?
Don't get me wrong, I am well aware of the news about the $GME stock squeeze and what r/wallstreetbets is doing to Melvin Capital and ot...
-
Well, a threat is only as good as its followthrough, and I am nothing if not a credible threat. So you asked, and so long as the gag order i...
-
Don't get me wrong, I am well aware of the news about the $GME stock squeeze and what r/wallstreetbets is doing to Melvin Capital and ot...
-
One of the agonizing things about writing Financial Pro-Tips is when I have several ways of framing an idea, and then I need to pick one. I ...